top of page

Reiki - The Fine Art of Tuning the Body, Mind & the Spirit

By Dr. Abu Baker Thwahir.

A-14/303, Millat Nagar, Andheri West, Bombay - 400 053.

"Reiki" stands for Universal Life Force. It aims at healing oneself and others, ensuring well-being, harmonizing relationships by dissolving blocks and making life smooth and achievement-oriented. Reiki treatment is simple. A Reiki master places his palms on various parts of the body of the patient and the energy flows from him/her to the patient. For full treatment some twenty-four locations have to be energized for a minimum of five minutes at each location. Attunement is the process of opening a channel for cosmic energy to flow. Once such a channel is established, it remains a Reiki channel for the rest of the life. Reiki works on aura, physical and emotional levels.

The seven energy centres (chakras) that have been identified are:

1.. Crown Chakra (brain, right eye).

2.. Third Eye (pituitary, nervous system).

3.. Throat and Lungs.

4.. Heart (thymus glands, circulatory system).

5.. Solar Plexus (adrenal, stomach, liver and gall bladder).

6.. Splenic (reproductive organs).

7.. Root Chakra (kidneys, bladder, spine).

It is holistic healing method which was originally practised by Jesus Christ and given to his 12 disciples. For some time it was lost to the world. In the 19th century it was revived by a Japanese, Dr. Mikao Usui, who was the Dean of a Christian University in Kyoto. He made research in this technique and traced that Buddha too practiced this method for giving soccour to the suffering people.

Health is harmony of body, mind and spirit. Following are the five principles of Reiki:

1.. Just for today, I will live with gratitude.

2.. Just for today, I will not worry.

3.. Just for today, I will not be angry

4.. Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

5.. Just for today, I will love and respect every living thing.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page